Cache-Control: no-cache

Craig Holden

Mystery novelist

Craig Holden, a native of Waterford, Michigan, is the author of six literary mystery novels, "The River Sorrow," "The Last Sanctuary," "Four Corners of Night," "The Jazz Bird," "The Narcissist's Daughter" and "Matala." The first two involve Michigan, while "The Jazz Bird" is based on real events in Ohio. His books, driven by character, are popular around the world; they have been translated into a dozen languages.

He received his MFA in Fiction from the University of Montana in 1986, and then worked for two literary agencies in New York City, eventually becoming a film rights agent himself. "The River Sorrow" has been translated into a dozen languages. "Four Corners of Night" won the Great Lakes Book Award for fiction in 1999 and hit the USA Today bestseller list. 

He has taught at the University of Toledo, the University of Michigan, and New Mexico State University, where he was the visiting writer. Craig has also taught several times at the former Walloon Lake writers retreats in northwest Michigan, so this appearance in northeast Michigan is a homecoming of sorts. He currently lives and writes in southern New Mexico.

Inset photo by John Foley

Stay in touch